Our People

Our People

Management Staff

BJL_0631 laura croppedLaura Hilgart, MSW,
has been with The Women’s Center since 1989. She has served as Director of Programs, Development Director, and has been in her current position as President & CEO since 2004. She is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, receiving a Master’s Degree in Social Work, and worked for the University of Texas and for United Way of Tarrant County before coming to The Women’s Center. Under her direction, The Women’s Center has completed a $9 million capital campaign and constructed a new state-of-the-art facility, established a foundation, and launched an earned income venture to support annual operations.

Cathy Phelps, SPHR,
has been with The Women’s Center since 2006, serving as Vice President & Chief Financial Officer. In this capacity, she manages human resources for over 80 employees, a budget of over $4 million, financial reporting, audit, and grant compliance. Facilities management also falls under her supervision, and she provided leadership to the team during the construction of the new 26,000-square-foot facility finished in 2009. Under her direction, The Women’s Center operates a related business to sell the Play it Safe!® program to educators, parents and organizations. Prior to joining The Women’s Center, she served 12 years for the YWCA of Tarrant County, holding the position of Business Manager and ending her tenure as Assistant Executive Director of Operations.

Deborah Caddy, LCSW,
holds a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, a Master of Science in Social Work, and is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker – Supervisor. Her tenure with the Rape Crisis and Victim Services Program began in 1986 when she designed and implemented a treatment program for sexually abused/assaulted children and adolescents. She took over as the program’s director in 1989. In this capacity, she is involved in program development, community collaboration, and advocating for the rights of sexual abuse/assault survivors within the medical, educational and legal communities.


Sherri Chapell Pratt, LCSW,
 has been the Director of General Counseling Services since 2002. She received her Bachelor’s in Social Work from Kansas State University and her Master’s in Social Work from the University of Kansas. Prior to her tenure with The Women’s Center, Mrs. Chapell Pratt, spent 14 years in a group private practice that specialized in working with families in crisis. Under her supervision at The Women’s Center are a clinical staff comprised of social workers, counselors and case managers. She also supervises the Helpline, Legal Clinic and PEARLS program. Her leadership has allowed for collaborations with Cook Children’s and Fort Worth Independent School District and in 2014, under her direction, a program that focuses on the specific needs of older adults was realized.

Terri Rios
has worked at The Women’s Center since 1988, and currently serves as the Director of Employment Solutions. Here, she oversees three programs that assist unemployed and underemployed women and men secure employment and find financial security through career coaching, career development, skills training and financial capability programs. She is a highly effective manager and trainer receiving recognition for her program development work in areas including job readiness/life skills, job search, job placement, and job retention, effectively engaging employers, family violence as it affects employment, and literacy among adults. Prior to her work at The Women’s Center, she worked for more than eight years providing employment assistance in the governmental sector.

CH CroppedChrisee Huffman
has been with The Women’s Center since 1997. During her tenure, she has held positions including the Volunteer Coordinator and Special Events Coordinator. Since 2011, she has served as the Development Director, overseeing private fundraising, which produces over $1.2 million annually to support the work of The Women’s Center. Chrisee has a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Texas Christian University and a Master of Education from Texas State University. Prior to her work in the nonprofit field, she worked for the Texas Legislature and the U.S. Senate. chuffman@womenscentertc.org

2017 Board of Directors


Christine Murray, Chair – VP, Talent Acquisition & Development, Pier 1 Imports

Janeen Lamkin, Vice Chair – Community Volunteer

Connie Beck, Secretary – Former Banking Executive

Tasa Anderson, Past Chair – Community Volunteer

Shannon L. Greene, Treasurer – Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer; Tandy Leather


Chelsea H. Alexander – Financial Advisor/Sr. Portfolio Advisor, Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.

Anna Kingsley Alvarado – Attorney at Law, P.C.

Ashley Baker – Life and Wellness Coach, AB Life and Wellness

Judy Bernas – Associate Dean and Chief Communications and Strategy Officer, TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine

Eva Bonilla – Community Volunteer

Chuck L. Bouligny – Partner, Ascend Concepts, Inc.

Amy Knight Brown – Community Volunteer

Toni D. Ciggs – Tax Manager, Tom B. Johnson, CPA, PC

Dacia Coffey – President & CEO, The Marketing Blender

Ann Crossman – Vice President, Finance, Andritz Separation Inc.

Tammy J. Decker – Vice President, Human Resources, T.G. Mercer Consulting Services, Inc.

Richard R. Devero – Financial Representative, Northwestern Mutual

Kelly Ann Doherty – Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications, Nationstar Mortgage

Nan Dearen Gluntz – Community Volunteer

April Guidry – Human Resources Specialist, Freese and Nichols, Inc.

Claudine G. Jackson – Attorney/Shareholder, Bracket & Ellis, P.C.

Alyce Adair Jones – President, Adair Optical

Mimi M. Karnes – Assistant VP, Trust Administrator, PlainsCapital Wealth Mgmt. & Trust

Michael S. Malloy – Managing Partner, JTaylor

Rachel Malone – Vice President, Sr. Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Valerie Martinez-Ebers – Professor, Political Science, Editor Political Science Review, University of North Texas

Anne Moroneso – Community Volunteer

Paige Pate – Community Volunteer

Merianne Roth – Chief Strategy Officer, JPS Health Network

Kathy Spicer – Community Volunteer

Christopher L. Taylor – Attorney, Barlow, Garsek, & Simon LLP

Lei Testa – Regional Sr. Vice President, US Oncology/McKesson Specialty Health

Donna Vincent – Corporate Controller, Basic Energy Services, Inc.

Anne M. Weiskittel – Director of Treasury Operations, XTO Energy, Inc.

Stephen X. Westermann – Principal Shareholder, Westermann & Associates, P.C.

Shauna J. Wright – Partner/Attorney, Kelly Hart & Hallman LLP